Meatless, Real Food, Biscuits and Gravy!

    
Ahh Saturday morning. After a long week finally a day to sleep in a little, relax, and have a delicious breakfast!

This morning I made biscuits and gravy for the first time. Ive always had them with sausage in the gravy, but decided to make a meatless one. As well as a real food one. It turned out really good and I will definitely add it to the Saturday breakfast rotation. Or possibly even for dinner sometimes. Im a big fan of having breakfast for dinner. Leaving the sausage out actually made them a little less breakfast like anyway. So it can really work for any meal.

What you’ll need

4-6 biscuits (Preferably whole wheat)
2 T. Butter
2 T. Whole Wheat Flour
Salt
Pepper
Italian Seasoning
Onion Powder (optional)
1/3 cup Chicken Broth
2/3 cup Whole Milk (or a bit more for a thinner gravy)

Servings: 2 -plus enough to share with a baby-

To start with I had left over whole wheat drop biscuits from last nights dinner. I planned this out on purpose to make breakfast easier this morning. You can make whatever biscuits you’d like to go with the gravy. Or if anyone is interested I can add my biscuit recipe to this post.
For the gravy I melted the 2 T. Butter in a frying pan over a medium heat. Once it was fully melted I whisked in the 2 T. Whole wheat flour and the seasonings. I didn’t measure them, but I did mostly salt and pepper, with some italian seasoning and onion powder. Next time I think I’d do more of the italian and less onion. But the seasoning is up to you. Once that was mixed together well I added the 1/3 c chicken broth, ( I use Kirkland’s Organic chicken broth ) and 2/3 cup milk. I whisked that for a few minutes until it looked thick enough and then it was done! I poured it over the crumbled up biscuits, and we enjoyed it with a side of bananas and blueberries. It was fantastic and I am already looking forward to making it again!

 Let me know if you give it a try, what you did different, or what your favorite go to Saturday morning breakfast is!

Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous.
Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.”
Joshua 1:9

Leave a comment